Home »
Databases » Music
Music
- Grove Music
- Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
- International Index to Music
- The International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) is the ultimate resource for music periodicals available on the web. It enables you to search and browse citations and abstracts in hundreds of music journals covering a broad scope of research. IIMP indexes around 430 journals published in over 25 countries, in 17 languages. IIMP indexes unique titles not available in other resources. The resource currently includes over 530,000 records. A large proportion of these records index the most recent eight years of publication. More than 200,000 records are from the backfile (up to 1995). Much of this backfile coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some starting as early as 1874. Complete runs are included for selected journals, covering the first published issue right up to the most recent. A title list is available here.
- Music in Print
- Compiled by emusicquest, this index enables you to search online : Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print!
- Music Index
- The editor-librarians at Harmonie Park Press have surveyed data from more than 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 22 languages. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List which includes both Subject and Geographic headings. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index duly cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
- RILM Abstracts
- RILM material falls into two broad categories: (1) writings and other resources that provide an analysis, show the results of systematic research, or give a critical opinion or interpretation; (2) writings and other resources that provide important source material (including but not limited to correspondence, interviews, obituaries, conference reports, and biographies). RILM material can be in any format, including print, electronic, microform, etc.