James P. Boyce Centennial Library

Library News RSS Feed

Home » Databases » History and Miscellaneous

History and Miscellaneous

Arts and Humanities Citation
AH Search indexes arts, science, social science and humanities topics in international journals.
Early American Texts: 1639-1800
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 has been hailed as one of the most important collections ever produced on microform. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol?s Supplement to Evans? American Bibliography, the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
Early American Texts: 1800-1819
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex’s Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, allows students and scholars to explore the development of the American nation as never before. Designed for researchers of varying skill levels, the intuitive interface of this long-awaited digital edition offers both simple and advanced searching as well as in-depth browsing within sixteen carefully indexed subject categories.
Early English Books Online
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop! - in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Sociological Collection
Sociological Collection indexes articles on topics in sociology such as culture, addiction, psychology, gender, communication, society and class, history, politics, language and more. This database indexes more than 500 scholarly journals and magazines and provides some full text for all but one of these titles. Coverage for most titles begins in the early 1990s. The earliest available date is 1936. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.
Wilson Select
The WilsonSelectPlus database contains indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full-text periodical articles, many of which are linked to citations in other FirstSearch databases. Multidisciplinary coverage includes journals from the fields of business, science, education, the humanities, social sciences, and current interest publications. Includes US and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
James P. Boyce Centennial Library :: Southern Baptist Theological Seminary