Home »
Databases » Theology and Religion
Theology and Religion
- ATLA Religion Database
- The ATLA Religion Database is an essential tool for the study of religion. It is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Journals representing all the major religious faiths, major denominations, and numerous language groups are included. ATLA’s indexing of multi-author works, such as Festschriften and conference proceedings, is unique among religion databases. Unlike indexes that catalog books of essays as a single entry, ATLA indexes each individual essay in such works.
- Biblical Archaeology Online
- Biblical Archaeology Review connects the academic study of archaeology to a broad general audience eager to understand the world of the Bible. Covering both the Old and New Testaments, BAR presents the latest discoveries and controversies in archaeology with breathtaking photography and informative maps and diagrams.
- Christian Periodical Index
- The Christian Periodical Index (CPI) indexes more than 130 publications covering a broad spectrum of knowledge base within evangelical Christianity. Published by the Association of Christian Librarians, CPI provides access to English language articles and reviews from an evangelical perspective.
- Elenchus Bibliographicus
- The Elenchus Bibliographicus Online is the online version of the annual bibliography printed in vols. 2-3 of the Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses. It compiles bibliographies from a wide range of publications including monographs, dissertations and theses, miscellanea, and more than 1000 periodicals published in several languages (Catalan, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Latin, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish). The bibliography covers the entire field of Theology and Canon Law: History of Theology, History of Religions, Old and New Testament, Fundamental Theology, Dogmatic Theology, Sacramentology and Liturgy, Ascetic and Mystical Theology, Moral and Pastoral Theology, and Canon Law.
- Index to Book Reviews in Religion
- IBRR Online is the electronic successor to the print Index to Book Reviews in Religion. IBRR Online mainly indexes book reviews from 1960 to the present (although the ?Retrospective Indexing Project? has provided additional indexing for journals as far back as the Nineteenth Century. IBRR online also includes reviews from the Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.)
- Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
- This allegro database contains document descriptions from more than 600 periodicals and from Festschriften and congress publications via Zeitschrifteninhaltsdienst Theologie der Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen. It is updated every night and represents the state of the preceding work day.
- Patrologia Latina
- The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne’s Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne’s column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
- New Testament Abstracts
- New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,100 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 800 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
- Old Testament Abstracts
- Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
- Religion and Philosophy Index
- This database is currently unavailable, but most of its contents can be searched using Premier Academic Search. Premier Academic Search is also listed under Reference Databases.
- Southern Baptist Periodical Index
- The SBPI provides subject/author access annually to articles in approximately 50 periodicals, and cumulatively to over 100 periodicals, issued by corporations and agencies currently or historically related to the SBC.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
- TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. NOTE: Click here for a guide to using the online TLG.
- Cambridge Journals Online
- A collection of theological journals published by Cambridge University Press. Theological journal titles include AJS Review, Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture, Harvard Theological Review, The Journal of Ecclesiastical History, New Testament Studies, Religious Studies, and Scottish Journal of Theology.
- Oxford Journals Online
- A collection of theological journals published by Oxford University Press. We currently have the following titles available: Journal of Semitic Studies, Literature and Theology, The British Journal for the Philosophy of Science, and The Journal of Theological Studies.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts
- Religious and Theological Abstracts provides summaries of scholarly journal articles in the fields of Religion and Theology. RTA covers a wide variety of religious literature from diverse religious perspectives. All abstracts are in English, although many of the articles abstracted were written in languages other than English.